Oxford Art Society Associates

Programme 2020

OASA Programme for 2020   
Date Speaker Title
Feb 3 Stephen Duckworth Edward Lear – his 9,000 landscape drawings and how he used them.   
Mar 2 Emily Pott Byzantine Fresco in the 21st Century: Old Techniques, New Spaces.
May 11 Dr Richard Ormond Sargent and Spain
June  1 Tim Moreton “A likeness pleases every body”: Portraits in fiction.
Oct   5 Dr Mallica Kumbera Landrus Indian Temple Sculpture.
Nov  2 Dr Dillian Gordon From Paris to Siena via Avignon? The enduring enigma of the Wilton Diptych.

2 March: Byzantine Fresco in the 21st Century
Old Techniques, New Spaces
: Dr Emily Pott

Dr Emily Pott is Director of Research Programmes at the Prince’s Foundation School of Traditional Arts in London, a postgraduate arts college which encourages contemporary artists to research, learn and teach the arts of the past as living artforms.

Dr Emily Potts

11 May: Sargent and Spain: Richard Ormond

1 June: “A likeness pleases every body”
Portraits in fiction
: Dr Tim Moreton

Tim Moreton – portrait by Lucy Stopford at the BP Award 2017

5 October: Indian Temple Sculpture: Dr Mallica Kumbera Landrus

2 November: From Paris to Siena via Avignon? The enduring enigma of the Wilton Diptych: Dr Dillian Gordon

Programme Notes
Lectures are held on Mondays, twice during each term.
They will be held in the Headley Lecture Theatre in the Ashmolean Museum, Lower ground floor, unless otherwise stated.
Drinks 5.15pm
Lecture 5.45pm – 6.45pm

New members are welcome. Please pay your first subscription to the Membership Secretary. The annual subscription of £25.00 individual (joint £45.00) is due at the end of January to the membership secretary. Please also give changes of address and resignations to the membership secretary.
It is helpful if members complete a Standing Order form (available from the Membership Secretary).
Guests are welcome. £5.00 per person per lecture.
The Annual General Meeting of the Associates will take place on February 3rd 2020 – prior to the Lecture.

President:                             Dr Jon Whiteley:  jon.whiteley@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Chair:                                    Prof Anthony Bron: anthony.bron@ndcn.ox.ac.uk
Acting Hon. Secretary:           Ms Sarah Thorn: sarahthorn63@yahoo.co.uk
and Hon. Membership
Secretary:                             Ms Sarah Thorn: sarahthorn63@yahoo.co.uk
Hon. Treasurer:                   Judith Brown: judithbrown111@gmail.com
Committee Member:         Lucy Stopford – lucystopford@btinternet.com